Steering Committee

The Steering Committee consists of eleven young researchers and practitioners from different disciplines and backgrounds that all have a strong knowledge of the issues associated with climate engineering. Its members are responsible for the structure and content of the conference, including the identification of key questions and themes that will be addressed at CEC14 as well as key stakeholders. Together with the Advisory Group, the members of the Steering Committee will review session proposals following a process of double-blind peer review. After CEC14, the Steering Committee will compile a conference report. The Steering Committee is composed of the following members:

Schäfer, Stefan (Chair)

Stefan Schäfer is the Academic Officer of the Sustainable Interactions with the Atmosphere Research Cluster at the Institute for Advanced Sustainability Studies, Potsdam.

Banerjee, Bidisha

Bidisha Banerjee is a junior research fellow at the Red Cross Climate Center and a 2013 Donella Meadows Fellow of the Balaton Group. She is the co-author, most recently, of a Yale Climate and Energy Institute report on scenario planning for solar radiation management.

Buck, Holly Jean

Holly Jean Buck is a PhD student in Development Sociology at Cornell University, where she looks at human-environment interactions.  Her research interests include agroecology and climate-smart agriculture, energy landscapes, land use change, new media, and science and technology studies.

Collins, George

George Collins has worked on a variety of climate change topics, including common-law climate litigation, international treaty processes, a Bayesian framework for climate negotiations, and the embedding of agent-based political models inside global climate models.

Heyen, Daniel

Daniel Heyen is a PhD student in environmental economics at the University of Heidelberg. His research focuses mainly on the role of uncertainty and learning in environmental decision-making.

Heyward, Clare

Clare Heyward is James Martin Research Fellow for the Oxford Geoengineering Programme, University of Oxford.

Kravitz, Ben

Ben Kravitz is currently a postdoctoral research associate in the Atmospheric Sciences and Global Change Division at the U.S. Department of Energy Pacific Northwest National Laboratory.

Low, Sean

Sean Low is a Fellow at the Institute for Advanced Sustainability Studies in Potsdam, Germany.

Moore, Nigel

Nigel Moore is currently a Fellow at the Institute for Advanced Sustainability Studies studying the governance of climate engineering research.

Parker, Andy

Andy Parker is a research fellow at the Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs in the Harvard Kennedy School, where his research focuses on the governance and politics of research into solar geoengineering.