Advisory Group

The Advisory Group consists of a diverse set of eminent researchers and practitioners in the science, policy, and civil society communities, who are engaged in discussions relevant to climate engineering. The members of the Advisory Group provide recommendations to the Steering Committee and will contribute to the reviewing of session proposals following a process of double-blind peer review (together with the Steering Committee). The Advisory Group is composed of the following members:

Lawrence, Mark (Chair)

Mark Lawrence is the scientific director of the cluster “Sustainable Interactions With the Atmosphere” (SIWA) at the Institute for Advanced Sustainability Studies in Potsdam, Germany, and an Honorary Professor at the University of Potsdam.

Abegaz, Berhanu

Berhanu Abegaz is currently the Executive Director of the African Academy of Science, a pan-African honorific organization with headquarters in Nairobi, Kenya.  Abegaz is a chemist by profession with a rich teaching and research experience in several universities in Africa, Europe and the United

Artaxo, Paulo

Paulo Artaxo is Professor of Environmental Physics at the University of São Paulo (Brazil). He is a member of the IPCC Working group 1, and a lead author of AR4 (Chapter 2  - radiative forcing) and AR5 (chapter 7 - aerosols and clouds).

Benedick, Richard

Richard Benedick is Senior Advisor to Battelle’s Joint Global Change Research Institute at the University of Maryland. He has served as chief U.S.

Caldeira, Ken

Ken Caldeira is an atmospheric scientist in the Department of Global Ecology at the Carnegie Institution at Stanford University. He also serves as a professor in Stanford’s Department of Environmental Earth System Science.

Childs, Mike

Mike Childs is Head of Policy, Research and Science at Friends of the Earth, where he has worked for more than 20 years.

Crutzen, Paul J.

Paul J. Crutzen is currently Emeritus Scholar at the Max Planck Institute for Chemistry in Mainz, Germany, where he had previously served as Scientific Director (1983-1985) and as Scholar (1980-2000).

Ghosh, Arunabha

Arunabha Ghosh is CEO of the Council on Energy, Environment and Water (CEEW), an independent, policy research institution in India. He is also associated with Oxford’s Global Economic Governance Programme and its Smith School of Enterprise and the Environment.

Gjerde, Kristina

Kristina M. Gjerde is Senior High Seas Advisor to IUCN’s Global Marine and Polar Programme. A graduate of New York University School of Law, Gjerde is a recognized expert in the legal aspects of international marine conservation and management.

Hamilton, Clive

Clive Hamilton is an Australian author and public intellectual. In June 2008 he was appointed Professor of Public Ethics at the Centre for Applied Philosophy and Public Ethics, a joint centre of Charles Sturt University and the University of Melbourne.